Farm Girl Problem/Perk # 4 My nails pretty much always look like crap.

Standard

 

so.. umm... this is my life.

so.. umm… this is my life.

My hands are strong, callused, and rough to say the least. I’m not ashamed of them. Their strength allows me to do many things that many women can’t or won’t do. My hands have pulled unborn lambs/goats/calves from the womb into the world. They have moved countless hay bales. Carried thousands of joints of hand line. Pounded posts into the hard earth and completed countless other tasks. Hands are amazing to say the least. Think about all the things you can’t do without your hands… yeah the list is practically endless.

Here is the catch 22 for women in agriculture…

781353b0ac9493de239d2ebd3978cf8f6f649d7430297ae7c14630d672a9242d

 

This is no joke. At least half of the things that I do while working on the farm or ranch involve getting dirty. I don’t shy away from getting dirty. Though there are times that I really want to have pretty nails like those awesome ones on Pinterest. Yes there is yet another unattainable standard for women. Its unfortunate. You can’t have beautiful perfectly polished nails if your hands are constantly dirty.  In all seriousness perk/problem it really just depends on the day, where I’m going, and what I’m doing.

 

Leave a Reply

